senior award winners

June 03, 2022

Three Seniors Win Tiger Award

senior award winners
Aden Levy ’22, Priscilla Sideris ’22 and Oliver Berman ’22 are the recipients of the 2022 Tiger Award for Overall Excellence, the highest honor given to a senior student-athlete.

Sports Awards Night Photo Gallery

Three seniors were honored with the Tiger Award for Overall Excellence at the 2022 Upper School Sports Awards Night. The annual event, held this year on Thursday, June 2, also saw a number of Bay Ridge Prep student-athletes honored for their spirit, leadership and skills in various sports programs.

The Tiger Award, the highest honor given to a senior student-athlete, went this year to Oliver Berman, Aden Levy and Priscilla Sideris. As the award inscription reads, all four were highlighted for their  “positive character, sportsmanship, team leadership, school spirit” and being “one of the most quintessential student-athletes to grace the classrooms, courts, and fields of Bay Ridge Preparatory School.” Berman, Levy and Sideris will have their names added to a “Tiger Club” plaque in the Upper School that will also list all previous Tiger Award winners. 

Senior Amelia Block was awarded the Tiger Athletics Devotion Award for her participation in and devotion to sports during all four years of Upper School. Other awards included team awards in the following areas:

Varsity Volleyball 
Momentum Award: Derin Aksoy, Valentina Schapira, Haylee Pinkston
Spirit and Leadership Award: Amelia Block, Priscilla Sideris, Phoenix Ward
MVP: Ryann Parcell, Kate Lynch, Hailey Parcell

Varsity Boys Soccer 
Momentum Award: Ibrahim Manassei, Andy Spahija
Spirit and Leadership Award: Cy Golanski
The Natural: Isaac Altstein
MVP: Gabriel DeJesus

Cross Country 
Momentum Award:  Owen Gallagher
Spirit and Leadership Award:  Chandra Kyrwood
MVP: Matthew Betro

Winter Indoor Track 
Momentum Award:  Andrew Betro
Spirit and Leadership Award:  Samuel Toussie
MVP: Sophia Saadi

Spring Track
Momentum Award:  Huesen Paul
Spirit and Leadership Award:  Nico Bermudez
MVP: Sophia Saadi

JV Boys Basketball 
Momentum Award: Isaac Berton Clemants
Spirit and Leadership Award: Benjamin Tsui
MVP: Ryder Nuesell, Michael Ryan

Varsity Girls Basketball
Team Player Award: Amelia Block 
Most Improved Player: Phoenix Ward 
Rookie of the Year: Ryann Parcell 
Coaches Award: Tulsi Perun 
MVP: Hailey Parcell 

Varsity Boys Basketball 
Momentum Award: Alan Mandaloui
Spirit and Leadership Award: Alex Foroohar
MVP: Aden Levy (Defense), CJ Cordes (Offense), Henry Stewart 

Varsity Boys Tennis 
Momentum Award:  Noah Vinbaytel
Spirit and Leadership Award: Leo Strum, Simon Brueggemamm
MVP: Max Nulman 

Varsity Girls Tennis 
Momentum Award:  Summer Murjani
Spirit and Leadership Award:  Alina Stoll, Kiki Zisimopoulos
MVP: Chandra Kyrwood, Alina Stoll

Varsity Boys Baseball
Momentum Award: Ibrahim Manassei
Spirit and Leadership Award: Oliver Berman, Cy Golanski 
Cy Young: Aidan Cassidy 
Golden Glove Outfield: Jackson Goldstein 
Golden Glove Infield: Isaac Ashkenazi
MVP: Danny Calacanis, Gavin Sofronski 

Varsity Girls Softball: 
The Slugger Award: Selina Psarras 
Utility Award: Amelia Block & Samantha Norman 
Rookie of The Year: Sienna Cruz
MVP: Alexandra Conaboy, Cara Ann Insley

Founded in 1998, Bay Ridge Prep is an independent, K-12 college preparatory school offering intelligent and compassionate education in a progressive academic environment.