May 25, 2023

Upper School’s “Little Women” Celebrates Bonds of Love



“Little Women” Full Photo Gallery


Congratulations to the cast and crew of our spring musical production of “Little Women”! Based on the classic novel by Louisa May Alcott, the show followed the adventures of sisters Jo March and her sisters, Meg, Beth, and Amy. Jo dreams of becoming a famous writer and tries to sell her stories but publishers are not interested.  After a friend, Professor Bhaer, tells her that she needs to do better by including more of her unique self in her writing, Jo weaves the story of herself and her sisters growing up in Civil War America. The show embodies the complete theatrical experience with laughter, tears, and a lifting of the spirit, while also celebrating the fact that our dreams may take us in different directions but the bonds of love we form will never break.  


Performances took place on May 18, 19 & 20 in the Upper School Gym, which was transformed for the occasion! Students in the middle school were also treated to a one hour preview of the show as a special treat. The set, designed by senior art students Mikey Marinakis and Kenya Charles and constructed with the help of a team of art students and faculty, highlighted the literary nature of the show by utilizing pages from damaged and discarded books in the creation of pieces as varied as a piano and a flowering garden arch. The production was directed by Ms. Cait Hynes and showcased the talents of twenty-nine students in the cast and crew. Vocal direction was provided by Ms. Brie Rosa with technical direction by Mr. Brian Artabane.


The full cast included Frank Calacanis, Jennifer DeBrusk, Xaviar Custodio, Gemma Essex, MJ Evangelista, Caden Guy, Este Itkowitz, Kenyon Lovett, Naveen Menezes, Arabella Neff, Havi Nor, Ryann Parcell, Abigail Ryvkin, Lori Sonenberg, Stephanie Stathoudakis, Cecily Veto, Jack Walsh, Phoenix Ward and Sylvie Weeks.


The crew included Derin Aksoy, Laurenne Berha, Pearl Berton Clemants, Andrew Betro, Matthew Betro, John Calacanis ’22 (’22), Stella DiChiaro, Sophia Feder, Nina Hewryk, Catherine Mack and Margaux Mayward.